Hi! My name is Liz….and you are…..?

Well, this is my first ‘blog’ entry. First, let me point out that I absolutely detest the word ‘blog’. I also detest the words twittering, facebooking and  googling. But, I digress. Seeing as this is my first blog entry, I guess I should introduce myself to the world-wide web and explain why I’m choosing to open my soul to a bunch of strangers. Narcissist, party of one…your table is now ready.

Here’s my story:

I’m a stay at home mom to two adorable little munchkins. I am blessed to be home all day with my 4-year-old son (we’ll just call him, Bean) and my 3 month old daughter (let’s just refer to her as Peanut). Recently, due to some unexpected changes in our finances, my dear husband (hrmm..for the purposes of this blog I’ll just call him…Hubby) and I have notice that our bills are growing even faster than the kids. I have absolutely no desire to work outside of the house. I did it for many years and I don’t want to go back. It’s scary out there!!!  God BLESS all of you Mamas out there who do manage a job outside of the home AND organize the troops in your house. I honestly don’t know how you can do it and stay sane! Again..I digress.

So….the bills are piling up and we need to make some budget cuts. My new mission in life (in addition to raising two well-adjusted children) is to find bigger and better ways to trim our budget. One of our biggest monthly expenses is the grocery bill. I’ve clipped coupons with the best of them and usually wind up with a cart full of over processed foods, half of which I don’t even like. I want to eat heartily and healthfully…but also frugally.  I know that 90% of Americans (disclaimer: my statistics are COMPLETELY made up for my own purposes) are feeling the same financial pinch as my family. Maybe by blogging about my trial and error grocery trips, recipes and family life experiences…I can help myself and some other good folks to save some money, eat well and maybe have a few laughs. See, not entirely narcissistic right? 

I promise the following for this blog: I will keep it G rated (ok, PG on a bad day), no politics will be spoken here and I will always give credit where credit is due. That being said, I hope you enjoy reading my blog, comment if you do & tell your friends about it. If you don’t like something I write, please be kind…I bruise easily.

Thanks for reading! 🙂 

So…there you have it. Welcome to the Land of Liz!

8 thoughts on “Hi! My name is Liz….and you are…..?

  1. Hi Liz,
    I think it is so great you are doing this! I commend you making the commitment to be a full-time Mom to your children even though it means a tight budget. It does irk me that the coupons are always for processed foods and nonfood items. It seems the better bet is look for the in-store specials in produce (now that the local farmer’s markets are closing down for the season). I will be watching to see how you do and what I can learn. After all retirees are on a budget too…

  2. Love it! What a great idea~ You are definitely not the only one feeling the budget crunch, or the only stay at home mom that really, really wants to stay that way!!!! :o)

  3. Lizzy,

    Your mom and dad think you are terrific. We want “Bean and Peanut” to grow big and strong and healthy! You are a wonderful cook and we wish you much success!

    Mega-dittos from Dad
    Hugs and kisses from Mom

Leave a Reply

