The Chicken Noodle Soup Story

Yesterday marked the 10th anniversary of my first date with Hubby. In honor of this, I feel it only fitting to embarrass the heck out of him with a story he will never live down. Don’t worry, I told him I’d be doing this. There will be an 11th anniversary. 🙂

 I now present the Chicken Noodle Soup Story.

Once upon a time, when Hubby and I were newlyweds, he came down with a nasty head cold. The poor guy was laid out on the couch for two days straight. He was miserable. So, I did what any good little foodie-wife would do: I decided to cure him with home cookin’.

My good friend Shell gave me a recipe for Chicken Noodle soup that she swore would “cure what ails ya”. I just knew this would be the miracle cure my suffering Hubby needed.

I put on my Super Wife cape, ran out to the grocery store and bought the necessary ingredients. I made the stock from scratch. I chopped the veggies into perfect little bite-sized pieces. I shredded the chicken by hand. Believe me…this was not your average chicken noodle soup with average ingredients. The love of a good woman was cooking in that pot! And there was a LOT of love because this recipe yields enough soup for a small army. I had a vat of chicken noodle soup by the time it was done.

In all honesty, it was not a difficult soup to make but I was darn proud of myself for going the distance and not just opening a can of Campbell’s (not that there’s anything wrong with that). I patted myself on the back one last time and presented my dearest love with a bowl full of my culinary cure.

I placed the bowl on the coffee table beside him, placed my cool hand to his feverish forehead, kissed his brow and whispered softly “Your dinner is ready, honey.”

My darling, glassy-eyed husband looked up at me and said “Thanks babe but, I’m really not a soup guy.”

To this day I swear that he is the luckiest man on earth because he didn’t wind up wearing that bowl full of soup. Oh well! I still love the guy with all of my heart (despite our culinary differences). I now make soup for myself or to share with friends. In fact, I’m making it this afternoon while Bean is in school and will probably deliver some to a neighbor (Frances, that means you….if you’re reading). This soup also freezes really well so I’ll have plenty for the upcoming winter months.

Shell’s Chicken Noodle Soup: aka Newlywed Soup

Please note: I don’t have exact measurements for this soup (it’s kind of a ‘to your taste’ recipe) AND the orignal recipe calls for dumplings. I’m not a fan of dumplings so I’m not including them. It’s my blog…I can do that!

1 whole chicken

1 bag frozen peas

celery

carrots

chives

bag of egg noodles

chicken seasoning

2-3 chicken bouillon cubes

In a large pot (REALLY LARGE), place whole chicken and cover with water. Add chicken seasonings (without really measuring, I’d say a good 10-15 shakes) Shell’s exact instructions were “use lots!”. Add the bouillon cubes, cover and bring to a boil for 15-20 minutes. Flip the chicken once or twice while boiling.

While the chicken is cooking away, cut up veggies into small pieces.

After the chicken has boiled, remove it from the pot and let it cool. Keep the liquid simmering in the pot. Once the chicken is cool to the touch, pick off as much meat as possible and cut into bite sized pieces (or shred…it’s your choice. Don’t you just love that freedom? God bless America.).  Throw all that meat back into the pot. Add veggies and egg noodles and return to a boil for about 10 minutes. Reduce to a simmer and cook until veggies are tender (about another 20 minutes).

And there you have it….fabulous chicken noodle soup. Serve it up for someone you love. Just make sure that the one you love is a ‘soup guy’ before you go to the trouble. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Chicken Noodle Soup Story

  1. Liz, thanks for sharing your delicious soup! I hate to admit it but it is much better than mine… What kind of “chicken seasoning” do you use? As for your story – I can’t believe a sick husband would turn down HOMEMADE chicken soup! Chicken soup is well known for its healing properties and I’m sure he suffered an extra day at least (which he deserved)!
    Grateful neighbor

  2. I was happy to share and I’m glad you enjoyed it! As for the seasoning, I used McCormack’s chicken seasoning, salt & pepper. I use a lot! Each time is different. You really just have to taste it along the way.

Leave a Reply

