Searching for a pie detox program

The holidays are my time of food weakness. I admit I have a problem. That’s the first step toward recovery, right? I’ve never met a carb I didn’t like and I justify my gluttony at dinner parties by thinking it would just be plain rude to my host not to have seconds. Don’t even get me started on my pie abuse  problem.

Unfortunately after making, and consuming two extremely decadent pies this Thanksgiving and chasing them down with multiple glasses of eggnog, I was feeling pretty gross. I noticed that my “fat pants” were rapidly becoming my “oh my, these are comfy pants” and I was beginning to regret getting rid of all of my maternity clothes. I felt it would benefit me to peruse my Cooking Light cookbook for my next few meals.

Even though most Americans don’t even want to think about turkey right now, I’m one of the few who didn’t get enough this year. Thankfully, this recipe could easily be made with chicken. I now present, for your dining pleasure:

Turkey Cutlets With Balsamic-Brown Sugar Sauce

Ok…stop right there and think of those wonderful words…Balsamic-Brown Sugar Sauce. I could drink a cup of this sauce and skip the turkey. I think I may have a problem here… I’ll have to ponder that for a while. In the interim, please enjoy this recipe.

From The Complete Cooking Light Cookbook

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 pound turkey cutlets

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup minced shallots

2/3 cup dry red wine

2/3 cup fat-free, less sodium chicken broth

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp salt

Thyme Sprigs (optional)

1. Combine the first four ingredients in a shallow dish. Dredge turkey cutlets in flour mixture

2. Heat oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add cutlets; cook 3 minutes on each side or until done. Note: Turkey cutlets are REALLY thin and will cook up quickly! Remove to a serving platter and keep warm.

3. Add shallots to pan, and saute 1 minute over medium-high heat. Add wine and broth; stir with a wooden spoon, scraping bottom of pan to loosen browned bits. Bring to a boil, and cook over medium high heat 5 minutes. Add vinegar, sugar and 1/4 tsp salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 3 minutes. Spoon sauce over cutlets. Garnish with thyme sprigs if desired.

This recipe is a keeper! Hubby actually made “yummy noises” while he ate…and had seconds. SCORE! I served this with a side of steamed green beans with toasted pecans, shallots and bacon. Yes, bacon…I couldn’t have an ENTIRELY healthy meal…I may go through withdrawal. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

