Peanut Butter & Onion Soup

Let me start by answering the question I’m sure you are all asking now….No, I’m not pregnant again. Nor is this some odd residual ‘preggo craving’. I know I may lose some of you here but try to hear me out on this. This is a legitimate recipe and one of my favorite comfort foods.

When I was a vegetarian (not vegan), I was constantly looking for creative ways to get healthy food into my diet. I was a lousy ‘junk food vegetarian’ & protein-rich foods were not high on my priority list. You can certainly sustain life on Doritos’ and Ramen noodles but, I assure you, it isn’t much of a life.

I adapted this recipe from The Vegetarian in the Family cookbook. When I first made this, I wasn’t much of a cook but this proved to be an easy recipe. It’s an odd combination of flavors but it’s a really yummy, creamy and satisfying soup. Ok, have I talked it up enough for you all?

Here we go:

2 Tbsp margarine (or butter, just depends on your taste)

1/2 lb onions, finely chopped

2 tbsp whole-wheat flour (or all-purpose if that’s all you have)

3 3/4 cup vegetable stock (or chicken, if you don’t care about the vegetarian factor)

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 bay leaf

3-4 tbsp crunchy peanut butter (or smooth, if you prefer)

1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

salt & pepper to taste

1. melt the margarine in a saucepan and gently cook the onions, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until they begin to brown. Sprinkle with the flour, cook one minute more, then add the stock, bay leaf, herbs and seasonings.

2. Bring to a boil, then cover the saucepan, lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes more. Remove bay leaf

3. Stir in enough peanut butter to make the soup creamy. Serve hot, garnished with parsley.

Trust me….it’s good. Odd, but good!  You could even change the recipe up a bit by giving it a Thai flavor with spices like curry, chili powder, cumin. Oooh…cilantro instead of parsley…the possibilites are endless!

Now, I’m not foolish enough to think that Bean or Hubby would even entertain the thought of trying this. I know that this soup is ALL me in this house. Not sure if I would share anyway. So there! Call me selfish…I’m willing to live with that.

So, who have I convinced? Adventure awaits!  Bon Appetite!

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter & Onion Soup

  1. I trust you, but I can not get past what ones breath is like after chowing down on this! After dinner mints seem to be a must for this menu. 😉

  2. Suggest also chopped celery. My husband likes the soup smooth so after sauteing onions and celery and adding a little stock – I ran it through the blender. Then return to pot and add the rest of the stock and simmer. Ummmm

Leave a Reply

