Sweet & Sour Kielbasa with Red Cabbage

 I had every intention of starting off 2011 with a week full of light meals for all of you who made dieting a resolution. Sorry to disappoint but, it didn’t work out that way.  Between coughing fits, sneezes, grumpy children and a mountain of laundry bigger than my couch I haven’t had the chance to set up a healthy menu. It’ll still be 2011 next week right? Good. Now, with that behind us….let’s move on to one of my favorite comfort foods. Sweet & Sour Kielbasa with Red Cabbage. I got this recipe from the October 1999 issue of Pillsbury Classic Cookbooks magazine (I will answer the unspoken question: Yes, I hoard cooking magazines. There are worse things in life.). The dish is decidedly not low in fat but, on the bright side, cabbage is a really great source of vitamin C. Maybe it’ll help us all get over our lousy winter colds a bit faster.

I’ve been making this dish for years. It’s simple, filling and cheap!  Three of my favorite food qualities. The kielbasa cost me $3.39 and the cabbage was $1.52. Everything else was already in the pantry. Wow…you can’t feed a family of four at McDonald’s for that!

There's an onion hidden back there somewhere...

You’ll need the following:

2 tbs butter

1 medium onion, thinly sliced

1/4 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)

2/3 cup apple juice or apple cider

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

4 cups shredded red cabbage

1 (1lb)fully cooked smoked kielbasa sausage ring (double this if you have a large family. You will have plenty of cabbage…believe me!)

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion; cook and stir for three minutes or until tender

This is one of my favorite things in the world....a pan full of sauteed onions.

Add brown sugar, salt (to taste), apple juice and vinegar. Mix well. Add cabbage. Reduce heat to medium low; cover and cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Isn't that pretty? At this point in the cooking process....Hubby looked up from the football game and asked "Babe, why does the house reek of vinegar?". Your house probably will reek of vinegar too....but it's for the greater good and it doesn't last long...trust me!

Cut up the sausage into small pieces and place in the cabbage. The original recipe calls for the entire sausage to be placed on the top of the cabbage. Personally, I like the sausage to get a little caramelized so I bury it in the cabbage a bit and then flip it halfway through the cooking process.

Go ahead and sneak a piece or two of the fully-cooked sausage before you're done cooking. It's your reward for slaving over a hot stove. I won't tell anyone. Besides, it will make me feel less guilty for doing the same thing.

 Cover and cook 10 to 15 minutes more.

And here is my embarrassing secret: I can't find the lids to any of my pots and pans. I use an old beat up cookie sheet. I hope you don't think any less of me.

Uncover skillet; cook 15 to 20 minutes more or until most of the liquid is absorbed.

This is a really great meal to satisfy the meat lovers and the veggie lovers in your house….even if your house does wind up temporarily smelling like Easter egg dye. 😉 Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Kielbasa with Red Cabbage

  1. I will absolutely try this!!!! I know my kids will love it, except for the little non-veggie eating male. He does love sausage though!:) We did homemade baked chicken fingers & baked sweet potato fries last night which was a huge success, except that the little non-veggie eating male didn’t like the orange fries! Can’t please them all!

    • Thanks! I guess I should add as a side-note that the kielbasa will also a bright shade of pink if you put it in the fridge overnight. I think I would have scared people away if I had posted a picture of that!

  2. I made this last night~ yummy!!! I loved it, the kids picked out the sausage and left the cabbage just as I figured and my hubby the self-proclaimed cabbage hater cleaned his plate! Oh, and I used the low fat Turkey Kielbasa instead of the regular! 🙂

Leave a Reply

