Brown Sugar Baked Chicken and Oven Fries

There’s no real back story to this recipe. It’s just a yummy, cheap, and relatively guilt-free meal. This comes from an old beat-up copy an Eating Light Magazine. I’d like to tell you what issue it came from but the cover fell off a long time ago. That’s the sign of a very loved periodical.

My favorite part of this meal is not feeling guilty about feeding Bean seconds on “french fries”. My second favorite thing is that the whole meal cost less than $5.00 (not including pantry items)!

I went a little photo-crazy. Hope you don’t mind.

Here we go:

If you zoom in closely on the price tag, you can see that the chicken was only $2.27! Gotta love a bargain.

3 Large baking potatoes cut lengthwise in 1/2 inch thick sticks

1 Tbsp oil

3 Tbsp packed light-brown sugar

2 tsp chilli powder

2 tsp grated orange zest

1 tsp salt

8 chicken drumsticks

1. Position racks to divide oven in thirds. Heat to 450 degrees. Line two rimmed baking sheets with foil (for easy cleanup). set a wire rack on 1 sheet; coat rack well with cooking spray

2. Put potatoes and oil in a large bowl; toss to coat. Spread out on prepared rack, overlapping if necessary. Bake on top oven rack 10 minutes.

"Don't worry you beautiful little potatoes! You will be golden and crispy very soon." I find that if you sweet talk your food it will turn out better. Just don't let anyone catch you doing it.

So pretty. I love potatoes.

3 Meanwhile, mix sugar, chilli powder, orange zest and 1/2 tsp of the salt in a large plastic food bag. Add drumsticks and shake until chicken is coated. Arrange on second baking sheet.

I used my Microplane to zest the orange. What a handy-dandy little tool.

Be sure to give your "starving" children the rest of the orange as a pre-dinner snack.

It's like Shake n' Bake...but better!

If you don't have a wire rack to cook on, a broiler pan will do just fine. Just be sure to double line the bottom pan with foil. You will thank me later when you don't have to scrape baked brown sugar and chicken fat off of your pan.

4. Place chicken on lower oven rack and bake 25 to 30 minutes or until potatoes are tinged golden brown and chicken’s juices run clear when pierced with a fork. Drizzle any juices in baking sheet over the chicken. Sprinkle potatoes with remaining salt and pepper.

Beeeautiful! Pictures don't even do it justice.

Enjoy! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Baked Chicken and Oven Fries

  1. I’m going to try this one – it looks really good – and easy! 🙂 Easy being the best part for me. Keep it up – I love your recipes.

    • Let me know how it turns out! Test out your seasonings first before you add the chicken to the bag. If you’re not a big chilli fan you may want to add more zest or brown sugar. My last batch was a bit heavy on the chilli and needed more sugar and salt. I have to remind myself constantly to taste my food as I’m cooking. I pretend that Gordon Ramsay is over my shoulder screaming expletives at me.

  2. Tasting as you go is a good tip. I have a bad habit of going by the aroma and not tasting until it is served. Since I also “freelance” a lot on recipes results are not always what I had hoped for.

Leave a Reply

