Mmmm….Bacon

No. Not that Bacon

THIS Bacon!

And before you ask… the answer is no. My photography has not improved…I just got this picture from Google images. I got lazy. Sorry…my Supermom cape is in the laundry. I spilled some Cabernet on it last night.

Anyway…I have stumbled upon a great way to cook bacon. (Thanks to a random search on about.com) It comes out perfect and crisp every time. It’s easy and best of all there is very little clean up involved. If you’re like me and love bacon but you truly can’t stand the mess it makes on the stove top this is the solution. 

1. Line a baking sheet with two layers of foil. Make sure to create a lip around the pan to prevent the grease from spilling onto the pan.

2. Place a single layer of bacon on the sheet and place into a COLD OVEN. You heard me…COLD!  This is the most important step!

3. Set the oven to 400 degrees and walk away for 15 minutes.

Depending on the thickness of the bacon 15-20 minutes should be enough time. Just keep an eye on it.  Take the bacon out of the pan and place on a paper towel lined plate.

Carefully fold up the foil and let the grease set up before throwing it away. You could also let it slightly cool and put it in a container for future use. 

And there you have it…perfect bacon! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Mmmm….Bacon

  1. I’ll have to try it – I bet the toaster oven would work for a couple of slices rather than heating up the big oven. I like crisp bacon and the microwave cannot deliver – though my husband loves his from the microwave.

  2. I don’t mind the way bacon turns out in the microwave but the bacon grease smell lingers too long and you can’t get it as crispy. The oven gets it nice and crisp. You can even set the bacon on the pan in those nice ‘ribbon’ shapes like they do in the restaurant!

  3. You could also save your bacon grease for the most awesome sausage gravy I have ever made, which calls for 2 tbs bacon grease LOL

  4. YOU’RE A GENIUS! Or at least whoever posted on About.com is a genius. I tried this tonight and I’ll never go back to scrubbing grease off my stove top again!

Leave a Reply

