Sereni-tea

There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.  ~Bernard-Paul Heroux
I really like this quote because it is so true! Whenever I am feeling stressed beyond my limits or I just want to unwind after a crazy day of chasing the munchkins around…tea is the answer. Well, tea or cabernet….but obviously tea is the healthier choice.

One of my favorite posessions is my glass teapot.  

The tea infuser is built right in and it's just so pretty and girly you can't help but smile and relax when you look at it.

My mom and I discovered this particular teapot after spending a day at The Linden Spa at the Inn at Perry Cabin. A pot full of tea was kept warm for all of us lucky enough to be lounging around in our cushy white terry cloth bathrobes and slippers in their ‘relaxation room’. The spa services were a little (ok…a LOT) overpriced in my opinion but the tranquil atmosphere made up for the ridiculous price of my massage and pedicure. I always think back to that place when I’m looking for a great mental escape.
After our spa day, my wonderful Mom went out and bought the same teapot for herself, her BFF’s and me. I love my mama!
Now- here is my recipe for a perfect pot of tea.
1. Boil up a pot of water. I’ve been told to always start with cold water or it makes the tea taste flat. I’m not sure what that means really but, who am I to break the rules?

2. Place four to six bags of your favorite tea (or use loose tea if you’re a purist & follow the directions on the can), one slice of lemon, and one small piece of ginger into the infuser and pour in the boiling water.
3. Let steep for 5 minutes & remove tea bags, ginger and lemon. Serve with honey and an additional squeeze of lemon.
4. Send the kids to bed
5. Grab a great book, turn on some of your favorite ‘chill out’ music.
You may have to repeat step 4 a few times but…once you do I hope you enjoy your pot of sereni-tea.

7 thoughts on “Sereni-tea

  1. What a great picture! It really brings back good memories! The Inn is running a special. $100 Giftcard at the Linden Spa..2 breakfasts, if you stay overnight. Don’t we wish!!!!!
    I really do like the pictures, they bring your blog to life. You can almost taste the food. Oh, and I take cream in my tea.

    Love you.

    • Heh…I usually take my tea with cream but I’m trying to add more ginger into my life. It’s good for ya! When I win the Pillsbury bake off challenge I’ll treat us both to a week at the Linden Spa! 🙂

  2. Love this quote about a cup of tea – adding to my “Quotes file”. Sipping warm tea is definitely a soothing activity. If you sweeten with honey instead of sugar it’s even Healthy. I made the switch several month ago and not looking back.

Leave a Reply

