Frugal Friday 3

Here’s my Frugal Friday tip of the week: Stop throwing out perfectly good food!!!

I don’t know about you but, a common conversation in my house goes a little something like this:

Me: Babe, does this (insert random food item here) smell ok to you?

Hubby: I don’t know…what’s the date on it?

Me: Well, it says ‘sell by’ January 20th but…it’s the 21st. Does that mean we should throw it out?

Hubby: gives a silent shoulder shrug

Me: Well, I’m not gonna chance it. Let’s just pitch it.

Hubby: Well…there goes money directly into the garbage!

I’m extremely confused by expiration dates. Sell by, use by, freeze by etc… what does it all mean? I certainly don’t want to risk giving my family food poisoning but I also don’t want to throw away perfectly good food just because I don’t understand the secret codes on the label. What’s a gal to do?

Well, my friend Brenda of Busy Bees Organizing Solutions recently posted a link that helped me clear up a lot of this confusion. I hope this helps you too!

 Still Tasty : Your Ultimate Shelf Life Guide.


You can follow Brenda on her facebook page for more handy-dandy organizing tips!

Now…go forth and organize!

Leave a Reply

