My new favorite comfort food

 A monster plague hit the Land of Liz this week but I think I have managed to wipe it out with my mad cleaning skills and a huge bottle of generic Lysol. The kingdom was as sterile as an operating room and  I threatened to serve our meals on the floor just to prove it.

Everything was looking up and then… *doom music*… the big snow arrived.   Poor Hubby was trapped at work for the night. Bean and Peanut were restless after spending a full week convalescing. The house was littered with toys again and I was about to tear my hair out from a serious case of cabin fever.

In times of great stress I turn to my old pal, comfort food. I had no real menu planned for the evening so I took the rare opportunity to experiment in the kitchen. I am so very glad that I did!

I took a quick inventory of my pantry and fridge and created a new comfort food favorite.

Marsala Cream Chicken

half of a small onion, chopped

two carrots, chopped (add as many veggies as you like…I just happened to have carrots on hand)

3 tbs butter

1/4 cup Marsala wine

1/4 cup chicken stock

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 tbsp flour

4 tbsp water

Salt & Pepper to taste

two fully cooked chicken breasts, cubed

1. Melt three tablespoons butter in a sauce pan. Add onion and carrots and sautee for 5 minutes  on medium high heat

2. Add Marsala and chicken stock and boil for 10 minutes (or until carrots are tender)

3. Reduce heat to low and add cream. 

4. Add salt and pepper to taste.

5. Mix flour and water together and add enough to cream mixture to thicken up your sauce. It should cling to your spoon like an alfredo sauce.

6. Add cubed chicken and simmer for an additional  5 minutes.

I served this over buttermilk biscuits with a bit of seasoned salt. I think it would be great over egg noodles or toast points too.  Oh who am I kidding?  This would be great over just about anything. It’s cream sauce for goodness sake!

By the way…I apologize for not posting any pictures. In my cleaning frenzy I managed to lose my camera charger.

I hope you all enjoy this recipe. Cream sauces and I are going to have to part ways for a bit. I’m beginning to jiggle.

Leave a Reply

