Healthy living!

Egad! It’s been crazy around here for the past few weeks. We’ve had pink eye, strep throat and an industrial strength cold that wiped the whole family out. I think the crud has finally left the building and we’re getting back to normal.

I apologize for not putting up a Frugal Friday post. I’ll make it up to you this week by posting an extra recipe.

Forgive me?

Yes?

Good. Let’s move on.

Last week, after an unexpected weigh-in at the doctor’s office, I decided that my love affair with cream sauces must come to an abrupt end.  It was a painful decision but a necessary one. I wept a bit but, in an effort to shrink my rapidly expanding waist line (and hips and buns and gut….) I headed out to the grocery store and spent the majority of my food budget on fresh veggies.  Portobello mushrooms were calling my name so I came home and whipped up the following sandwich for lunch.

Balsamic Portobello Wrap

1 Portobello mushroom cap (cleaned and sliced)

1/4 thinly sliced onion

1 tsp Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper (t0 taste)

1/4 cup fresh baby spinach

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Thin slices of colby- jack cheese

drizzle of low-fat honey-mustard dressing

Whole wheat wrap

1.In a skillet, heat olive oil on medium-high heat. Heat onions until translucent. Add mushrooms, salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar. Cook until mushrooms are a golden brown on both sides.

2. Spread out wrap and put on a layer of spinach. Place slices of colby-jack cheese on top of the spinach and add mushrooms & onions. Drizzle honey mustard dressing on top and roll into a wrap.

Warning…this is a pretty messy sandwich but it’s so yummy! .  

Enjoy- guilt free! 🙂

 Ok… I think the dust bunnies have run off with my camera charger. Hopefully I’ll have found it by my next post.

4 thoughts on “Healthy living!

  1. I’m so glade you clan is doing better!!! I’ll have to try the sandwich for my other half, he just loves those mushrooms! Say hi to Bean and kisses to Peanut

  2. Pingback: I love diet food! « Life in the Land of Liz

Leave a Reply

