I love diet food!

I love diet food? Yes! I know that sounds like a ridiculous statement but I am finding that I really do! Now I’m not talking about the “Slimfast” or “Lean Cuisine” diet foods. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. They just don’t work for me. What I’m referring to is food that is fresh, low in calories and high in flavor. So far this week my favorite diet foods have consisted of Balsamic Portobello Wraps, apricot glazed pork chops and the following recipe:

Pan Seared Chicken with Blueberry-Ginger Chutney (from the Cooking Light 2006 cookbook)

Chutney

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

1/3 cups packed brown sugar

1/3  cup finely chopped onion

1/4 cup golden raisins

3 tbs cider vinegar

1 1/2 tsp grated peeled fresh ginger

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp crushed red pepper

dash of ground cloves

1 clove garlic, minced

Chicken

1 1/2 tbs olive oil

3/4 tsp dried basil

3/4 tsp dried oregano

6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

3 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1. To prepare chutney, combine the first 11 ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Ginger. Isn't it odd looking? I wonder who was the first brave soul to eat this root? Maybe it was on a dare.

There! Much better. Ginger looks much more appetizing when it's being shredded by my microplane!

 

Pretty isn't it? Beware...the blueberries will stain your wooden spoon! I learned that the hard way.

2. To prepare chicken, combine oil, basil, oregano, chicken and 3 minced garlic cloves in a large heavy-duty zip-loc plastic bag; seal. Marinate in the refrigerator for at least two hours, turning occasionally. Remove chicken from bag. Discard marinade. Sprinkle 3/4 tsp. salt and black pepper evenly over chicken.

3. Heat a large pan over medium-high heat. Cook Chicken for 5 minutes on each side or until done. Serve with chutney.

I made this with basmati rice and a side of roasted fennel. I wish I could have photographed this in natural light. Pictures don't do it justice. Hope my poor photography doesn't steer you away from an amazing meal!

I have no idea if I’ve lost any weight this week but, by staying away from the high-fat snacks and my beloved cream sauces, I do feel like I have a lot more energy. My jeans aren’t quite as snug as they were last week!

6 thoughts on “I love diet food!

  1. I love the look of the fennel. I’ve been served it but have never been brave enough to try cooking it. Doesn’t help that my family don’t like the anise flavor that I adore.

Leave a Reply

