Leftovers

I love leftovers. I know I’ve mentioned this before. I have no problem polishing off a plate of spaghetti for breakfast…sometimes cold. Yesterday I ate two fried chicken legs before 8 a.m. (also, cold).  I’ve always been like this. It works well for my family because Hubby will rarely eat leftovers.

Yesterday I made a large batch of shredded pork. One night of barbecue sandwiches was good but it didn’t sound very good for breakfast this morning.  Times are tough & I certainly didn’t want all of that good food to go to waste so, I improvised a recipe. I needed to use up the leftovers but change it enough so I wasn’t met with “barbecue again, eh?”

I remembered having cheeseburger pie a long time ago. It’s an old standby on the side of the bisquick box. It’s easy to make, filling and yummy. I decided to substitute hamburger meat for barbecue. Then I remembered that the reason I have bisquick in my house in the first place is my love of Red Lobster’s Cheddar Bay Biscuits. Why not combine the two?

 

 

 

Barbecue....Pie....how could this be wrong?

Barbecue Pie

2 cups leftover pulled pork

1/2 cup barbecue sauce

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup bisquick

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Mix barbecue sauce & pulled pork together. Spray a pie plate with non-stick spray. Spread pork on the bottom of the pie plate. Spread on a layer of cheddar cheese. In a separate bowl mix remaining ingredients and pour over pork and cheese. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

Now THIS looks like potential breakfast material to me!

2 thoughts on “Leftovers

Leave a Reply

