Reduction

I am a fan of reduction. I’m reducing my sugar intake. I’m trying to reduce my grocery bill and frivolous spending. To save on gas (at $4.00 a gallon, who isn’t trying to save?), I am reducing the number of car trips I make. And, in an effort to reduce my waist line, I made this recipe with a reduction sauce. Ok, yes…I was grasping at straws to tie this theme together but give me a break….my writing skills are rusty these days.

I looked up reduction sauce online and here’s the best definition I could find (from wisegeek.com):

A reduction sauce is a sauce made for food which uses the drippings and juices left over after cooking meat. Since these drippings are often quite flavorful, the resulting reduction sauce is also dense in flavor, and it tends to complement the food very well, since it uses the juices exuded by the food while it cooks. An assortment of ingredients are added to these drippings to create a reduction sauce, ranging from cream to balsamic vinegar, depending on the desired effect.

Wise Geek said it a lot better than I would have. I really love reduction sauces. They add a lot of flavor to an otherwise ordinary meal.

I just started the Special K diet. I’m on day three and I’m proud to say I haven’t cheated one bit. The diet plan is: one bowl of Special K cereal for breakfast (with skim milk), a Special K snack mid-day, a bowl of cereal for lunch, a Special K snack mid-afternoon, and a sensible dinner. The cool thing is that I can have as many fruits and veggies as I want throughout the day.  This goes on for two weeks & then I’m supposed to maintain a sensible eating plan for the rest of my life. Hrmm…we’ll see how that goes.

Special K’s website was nice enough to provide a few creative and very tasty recipe ideas. For my first official “diet night” I chose to make the following:

Pork Chops with Pomegranate Glaze

Ingredients

  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 boneless pork loin chop, cut about 1 inch thick (5 oz.)
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons sliced green onions

Directions

  1. In small bowl stir together salt, cinnamon and pepper. Rub on both sides of pork chop.
  2. In small nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray cook pork chop over medium heat for 7 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned and nearly done, turning once. Remove from skillet. Keep warm.
  3. In same skillet combine pomegranate juice and sugar. Bring to boiling. Boil, uncovered, for 2 to 3 minutes or until mixture is reduced to half. Return pork chop to skillet. Cook, uncovered, about 1 minute more or until sauce thickens slightly and pork chop is done. Transfer to serving plate. Sprinkle with onions.

 

Don't you just love the funky design on these plates? $1.00 each at Target. Gotta love a bargain! I even have coordinating bowls.

I served this up with roasted potatoes and a salad. Hubby and Bean really liked it. Even Peanut ate a little bit of the potatoes (mushed up, of course).

Darn it…I’ve been writing this blog post and thinking about all the good food I ate last night. Now, in accordance with the Special K diet I shall go forth and chow down on some carrots. Wish I could have some of that pomegranate glaze to dip them in!

Tune in tomorrow for a sophistocated and healthful substitute for potato chips.

3 thoughts on “Reduction

    • Thanks Jean. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the pomegranate juice but it came together really nicely. I was also pretty happy with the way my kitchen smelled once that cinnamon hit the pan. Definitely one I will be making again.

Leave a Reply

