You are eating WHAT?

  I mentioned in my last post that I would be sharing a recipe for a healthy potato chip substitute. Before I get to that, let me explain why I’m attempting to better my eating habits.

It all started when I signed up for the 2011 Susan G. Komen walk. In September, I will walk 60 miles to raise money to fight breast cancer. I remembered how my poor knees had suffered at the hands of the 2009 walk. I hadn’t properly trained (and by that I mean I went from walking three miles once or twice  a week to walking twenty miles a day for three days straight). I knew that the only way I could possibly survive this year’s walk was to start training early.

I shopped Craigslist and found a double jog stroller for $40. I was so proud of myself that I immediately took Bean and Peanut out for our first two-mile walk around the neighborhood. Bean, Peanut and I sailed through the first mile of our trek. I felt so confident that I decided to throw a little jogging into the mix. Keeping in mind, I hadn’t seriously jogged or ran since I was a sophomore in high school, I decided to take it slow. I visualized the graceful long-distance runners I always admired in high school. They looked like gazelles: graceful, determined, focused and poised. I wanted to be a gazelle. 

I took the first step and jogged one block. I walked the next. I did this for two and a half blocks and noticed that something was happening to my body. That something was PAIN! First, my knees started to ache a bit. Then I noticed my thighs were feeling the burn. It was then, when it felt like my jiggling love handles were on fire, I realized that I may need to go into this fitness routine a wee bit slower. I suddenly thought back to my vision of the gazelles. I realized, if my life were a National Geographic Special ,  I would be the lame gazelle that gets devoured by a pride of lions. It was a sobering thought.

As I let this morbid image sink in, it occurred to me that I needed to make some changes. I had some very unhealthy food habits. The worst of these habits is my constant snacking. I can’t seem to pass our pantry without peeking in and taking “just a bite” of something. I admit I’m guilty of chowing down on a pint of Ben & Jerry’s while watching The Biggest Loser. I shared this information with my mom and she passed on a fantastic and healthy snack. Thanks Mom!

Kale Chips

1 bunch of Kale

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp salt (or seasoned salt)

  • Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with foil.
  • With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.
  • Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes.

I was the only brave one in the house to try these. I managed to eat the entire bowl and I didn’t feel one bit guilty about it. They are surprisingly crispy and flavorful and incredibly healthy.

All of this healthy eating is making me feel pretty good about myself.  I may just give jogging another try.

Snack away little gazelle! Snack away!

2 thoughts on “You are eating WHAT?

Leave a Reply

