A light lunch

Last weekend I packed a bag and headed out to Chincoteague Island, Virginia with my two BFFs for a girl’s weekend away. Prior to our escape, I had been doing very well on my diet.  I’m not a calorie counter but for two weeks I was mindful of eating sensible portions, lowering my fat intake and limiting in-between meal snacks. Once on the road, however, my diet flew out the window, landed somewhere on interstate 95 and became roadkill.

Crab dip, cream of crab soup, shrimp stuffed with crab imperial, french fries, crab balls, tortilla chips with cheese dip…. ooooh… I fell off the wagon and it proceeded to roll over me.

Now that I’m back home and my brain is no longer on island time, I realize that I must get back into good eating habits. I fear someone may try to harpoon me on my next trip to the beach.

This is a modified recipe for a roast-beef sandwich recipe I found on the Special K website. I don’t succeed with diet food that tastes like diet food. This sammy was filling and I felt like I was eating something on the naughty foods list.

Open Faced Roast Beef Sandwich

  • 2 teaspoons fat-free plain yogurt or fat-free sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon prepared horseradish
  • 1 slice multigrain bread, toasted
  • 1/2 cup mixed spring baby greens
  • 3 ounces thinly sliced, lean roasted beef
  • 1 tablespoon crumbled blue cheese (optional)
  • sliced hard-boiled egg
  • sliced tomato

Directions

  1. In small bowl stir together yogurt, mayonnaise and horseradish. Spread on toast. Top with greens, roast beef, tomato, egg and blue cheese.

    Grab a fork and knife and dig in!

4 thoughts on “A light lunch

  1. Needs more crab! 😉
    Sounds good. I wonder if turkey would be an adequate substitute for us non-red-meat-eaters.

Leave a Reply

