White Bean and Roasted Garlic Spread

There are few things in life I like more than the smell of roasted garlic. If I had my way I would have a roasted garlic air freshener hanging from my rear view mirror and large bowls of garlic, basil and onion potpourri in my living room. The smell of garlic warms my soul and makes me feel at peace with the world. Other people in the Land of Liz don’t feel quite so passionate about these delightful little bulbs of joy, so I limit my love of garlic to cooking.

Ordinarily I’m perfectly happy just roasting up a bulb of garlic and spreading it on a loaf of crusty Italian bread, but today I decided to get a bit more creative. I made a big batch of white bean and roasted garlic spread. This is a very simple recipe but it tastes out of this world!

The first step is roasting up the garlic!

  • Crank up your oven to 400. 
  • Cut off the top half of two bulbs of garlic
  • place them on a square of foil
  • drizzle on some olive oil and wrap them up
  •  Once the oven is heated up, roast those babies for 45 minutes.

When they are done they will be soft, easy to spread and delicious. 

When your kitchen starts to smell like a high-end Italian restaurant, open up a can of Great Northern beans. Rinse, drain and heat them on low on the stove top.

When the garlic is ready, squeeze it out from its paper shell into the bowl of a food processor.

Add the following:

  • warm beans
  •  a handful of cilantro (omit if you are not a cilantro fan….I am a BIG fan so I added extra!),
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • a drizzle of olive oil

 Mix it up in the food processor until it’s smooth.

Bean really liked it on her sandwich!

Peanut really liked it on her sandwich!

This is a great dip for veggies! I’m using it as a sandwich spread this week. It also stores really well in the fridge. It should be good for up to two weeks. Keep some on hand for any unexpected guests. They’ll think you eat like a gourmet every day!

Leave a Reply

